24 Jul 2017
July 24, 2017

New Zealand

0 Comment

If you have skills, qualifications or experience that New Zealand needs you may be able to apply for a resident visa under the Skilled Migrant Category.
The Skilled Migrant Category is a points system based on factors such as age, work experience, your qualifications, and an offer of skilled employment. You must also be aged 55 or under, and meet English language, health, and character requirements.

How it works (Procedure)


1. Self assessment

Check you meet the requirements and calculate your points
Skilled Migrant Category | Immigration New Zealand

2. Submit an Expression of Interest (EOI)

Note the fees and offices information
Submit an EOI online
3. Receive an Invitation to Apply (ITA)

If you have 160 points or more you’ll be selected from the EOI pool and be sent an ITA
4. Submit a resident application

Note the fees and offices information
Submit your resident application within six months on the form we provide you with
5. Receive your visa

If successful, you’ll be issued either a resident visa or job search visa
Common mistakes to avoid
Skilled Migrant Category applicants often make these mistakes that result in fewer points being recognised:

Qualifications not recognized


If you’re claiming points for your qualifications they need to either be on the List of Qualifications Exempt from Assessment or have been assessed by NZQA.

Get international qualifications recognised for Immigration | NZQA

Work experience not comparable

If you’re claiming points for work experience it must be in the same field as your qualification and job/job offer. If you don’t have a job or job offer then this experience also needs to be in a comparable labour market, in an occupation on the Long Term Skill Shortage List or for a multinational company.


Please fill the form below.




New Zealand Study Visa